You Shall Not Pass, NOT! (featuring Gandalf the Grey)

Blue Devil Knight over at Confessions of a Chess Novice talks about passed pawns, which inspired me to draw up this silly little gif:

endgame_passedpawn_01

If I remember correctly, this is how you create a passer in a 3vs3 pawns scenario in which your pawns are closer to the promotion rank. Unless the pattern is faulty, credit goes to Silman’s Complete Endgame Course for teaching me.

I believe the short & crispy nature of pawn move patterns lends itself well to the Chunky rook approach, so if you’ve got any pawn moves to spare, or if you can point me to literature or online resources discussing pawn dynamics, drop me a hint in the comments — it’d be greatly appreciated!

2 Responses to You Shall Not Pass, NOT! (featuring Gandalf the Grey)

  1. chunkyrook says:

    Fantastic, thanks! I remember somebody at the chess club mentioning that book to me, but I’d forgotten the name and exact title.

Leave a Reply

