The Pawn Move Mantra

middlegame_pawmoves_011

Pawn moves are the soul of the game. Pawn moves are all about space. So whenever you move a pawn, ask yourself about what happens to the space on the board, especially the three questions: Do I create outposts for my own or my opponent’s pieces? Do I open or close lines for my own or my opponent’s pieces? Do I open or close diagonals for my own or my opponent’s pieces? This is the pawn move mantra.

2 Responses to The Pawn Move Mantra

  1. chesstiger says:

    I think you forgot one thing in your mantra namely “If i push a pawn does it make my own or my opponents position more bad?”

    With other words, if i sac my pawn on c6 does the resulting position become better or worse for me or my opponent?

  2. chunkyrook says:

    I’ve left out considerations such as “doubled pawns” or “passed pawns” (if that’s what you mean by “worse” position) on purpose. The mantra is not supposed to cover all aspects of pawn play; the aim here was to find a succinct formula for space considerations when moving a pawn. Thanks for the input!

Leave a Reply

