Conquering Open Lines with a Blockade

middlegame_openlines_012A popular piece of advice for intermediate players is to focus on tactics and therefore play open games. Open games also means open lines, and knowing how to occupy open lines with your rooks and queen. A less known tactic to achieve this is to use a minor piece as a blockade to double the rooks behind it. Source: Offene Linien by Wolfgang Uhlmann and Gerhard Schmidt.

4 Responses to Conquering Open Lines with a Blockade

  1. Anonymous says:

    that is a very nice one, a real eye-opener, thx and kind regards

  2. Grandpatzer says:

    I learned something! Funny I’ve never seen this method of seizing a file summarized in this fashion (or, if I have, I’ve forgotten). Nice example.

  3. Robinson says:

    I agree with Grandpatzer — that is something I don’t ever remember seeing explained and the gif is very effective at making the point. Thanks!

  4. weird gifs says:

    Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you may be a great
    author. I will remember to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back down the road.
    I want to encourage yourself to continue your great job,
    have a nice weekend!

Leave a Reply

